2022 Rule of The Week

FOR MOST RECENT UPDATES                                          (REVISED 04/13/22 09:15)
Refresh Page or Clear Browser History
May Need to Refresh PDFs Before Downloading

When an illegal Libero replacement is made, the assistant scorer waits until after the contact of serve and then notifies the second referee of the illegal replacement.

A. Correct

B. Incorrect

Answer: Incorrect

Reference: 19.3.2.9; Referee Techniques #28

At 19-18 in set 1, it is discovered that Team B #18 is on the court through an illegal substitution. The officials determine the illegal player first entered the court several rotations earlier, and all points scores by Team B from that point forward should be removed.

A. Correct

B. Incorrect

Answer: Incorrect

Reference: 15.9.2.3

As the second referee is checking line-ups at the start of a match, it is discovered that a team did not list a Libero number on the line-up sheet. What is the correct action?

A. The team may immediately designate a Libero.

B. The team must play with no Libero for the current set.

C. The team must play with no Libero for the remainder of the match.

D. The team may designate a Libero, but the Libero may not play for the first rally of the set.

Answer: A. The team may immediately designate a Libero.

Reference: USAV 7.3.4, USAV Casebook 7.3.2

The Team S Libero is near the net next to a front-row teammate. The Libero and her teammate jump to block an attack-hit by the opponent. The Libero does not reach higher than the top of the net during this action, but her teammate blocks the ball to the opponent's court. What is the correct decision?

A. Point Team S - The Libero did not touch the ball, so no fault has occurred.
B. Point Team S - The Libero did not reach higher than the top of the net, so she’s not considered to be a blocker; no fault has occurred
C.
Point Team R - The Libero attempted to block
D.
Point Team R - The Libero was part of a collective block

Answer: B. Point Team S - The Libero did not reach higher than the top of the net, so she’s not considered to be a blocker; no fault has occurred

Reference: 14.1.1, 14.6.2, 19.3.1.3

The Team A coach asks if she has a time-out remaining, and the 2nd referee informs the coach the team has one time-out remaining. The coach immediately calls a time-out, and the scorer then notifies the 2nd referee that Team A has already used both time-outs in this set. What is the correct action?

A. Immediately end the time-out and assess Team A an improper request
B. Immediately end the time-out and sanction Team A with a delay
C.
Immediately end the time-out with no penalty to Team A
D.
Allow the time-out since the 2nd referee gave the coach incorrect information that was immediately acted upon

Answer: C. Immediately end the time-out with no penalty to Team A

Reference: USAV 24.2.7.d.

Team R player attacks the ball near the antenna. Team S touches (blocks) the ball at the same time as the ball contacts the antenna. What is the correct decision?

A. Point Team S
B. Point Team R
C.
No fault
D.
Replay

Answer: A. Point Team S

Reference: 8.4.3

Which of the following is permitted when a rally is stopped and replayed due to an injury?

A. A time-out request by the injured player’s team after the initial evaluation period
B. A substitution request to replace the injured player
C.
If the Libero is currently on the bench, a Libero replacement to replace an injured back-row player
D.
Any of these are permitted

Answer: D. Any of these are permitted

Reference: USAV 17.1.1

Team A designates two Liberos on the Set 1 line-up sheet, #6 and #14. During play in Set 1, #6 is injured and unable to play. When is Team A allowed to re-designate a new Libero?

A. At the start of Set 2
B. After a completed rally
C. Only if #14 is declared unable to play by the coach or captain
D.
Immediately

Answer: C. Only if #14 is declared unable to play by the coach or captain

Reference: 19.4.1.1, 19.4.3

S #5, a back-row player, jumps with one foot touching the attack line and attacks the ball while it is completely above the top of the net. A collective block consisting of Team R's back-row setter and a front-row player touches the ball, and the ball lands in Team R's court. What is the correct decision by the referees?

A. Illegal back-row attack by Team S; Team R wins the rally
B. Illegal back-row block by Team R; Team S wins the rally
C.
Double fault; replay
D.
Ball in-bounds; Team S wins the rally

Answer: C. Double fault; replay

Ruling: The attack by the back-row player became an attack-hit fault when the opposing team touched the ball, and a blocking fault was committed simultaneously by the collective block of Team R's back row setter and front row player. The rally ended when the ball was contacted by the block.

Reference: 13.1.3, 13.2.2, 13.3.3, USAV 13.3.7, 14.1.1, 14.1.4, 6.1.2.2, USAV Casebook 13.06

Team R's setter jumps and sets the ball near the top of the net. After the setter has released the ball, a Team S blocker reaches beyond the net in an attempt to block and touches the Team R setter's hands. What is the correct decision?

A. Point Team S
B. Point Team R
C. No fault
D. Replay

Answer: C. No fault

Reference: 11.1.1, 11.4.1

While attempting to retrieve a teammate's errant pass, R6 reaches beyond the sideline of an adjacent court that is in use. Without contacting that court at any time, R6 plays the ball while it is entirely above the adjacent court and passes it back into Team R's court. R2 then makes the team's third contact and attacks the ball to the floor of Team S's court. When should the 1st referee whistle to stop play?

A. When the ball enters the playing space above the adjacent court.

B. When the ball lands on the Team S court.

C. When R6 contacts the ball while it is in the playing space above the adjacent court.

D. When R6 reaches beyond the sideline of the adjacent court.

Answer: B. When the ball lands on the Team S court.
Reference: USAV 9.b.
Rationale: Similar to playing a ball that's over the crowd, an adjacent court is a non-playable area, but since the ball never hit the ground, it is still in play. It is not a fault to play a ball over a non-playable area, provided that the player is still in contact with the playable area.

When the R2 calls an illegal block, they blow their whistle, show the illegal block signal, then indicate the offending player with an open hand. The R1 then awards the point and R2 mimics the awarding of the point.

A. Incorrect

B. Correct

A. Incorrect
Rationale: If the R2 whistles an illegal block, they do not indicate the offending player with an open hand. They simply show the illegal block signal, then mimic the R1 when awarding the point (similar to a centerline violation).
Reference: 22.2.3.2; Referee Techniques #4b.

During Set 2, a Team B player is injured an unable to continue playing. There are two substitutions on the bench, #6 and #19, both of whom have played in this Set in a position other than the injured player's position. What is the correct action to be taken by the referees?

A. Substitute either #19 or #6 for the injured player. The injured player may not return to the match.

B. Substitute either #19 or #6 for the injured player. The injured player may not return to Set 2.

C. Substitute either #19 or #6 for the injured player. The injured player may return to Set 2 w/ approval from a trainer or medical personnel.

D. Grant Team B a special three-minute injury time-out. If the player is still unable to play, Team B defaults the set.

A. Substitute either #19 or #6 for the injured player. The injured player may not return to the match.
Reference: USAV 15.7

In the HOA region, in 15-and-over play, when a match has a paid official (R1), which of the following is a place the work team coach can be? (Choose ALL that apply)

A. R2

B. Scorer of record

C. Present at the scorer's table, but with no official job

D. Assistant Scorer (libero tracker) of record

E. Score flipper

A. R2

B. Scorer of record

Rationale: The coach may be R2 or scorer of record in 15-and-over play. The coach may NOT just sit at the scorer's table unless there is a career R2.

Which of the following is the correct technique for administering an improper request by the R1?

A. Place a yellow card over the opposite wrist, on the offending team's side of the court.

B. Place a red card over the opposite wrist, on the offending team's side of the court.

C. Place your palm over the opposite wrist, on the offending team's side of the court.

D. A "wave-off" - a sweeping motion with the arm extended, open hand, palm facing away from the body, on the offending team's side of the court.

C. Place your palm over the opposite wrist, on the offending team's side of the court.

Reference: Officiating Techniques, Points of Emphasis, & Match Procedures #8, p105

Which of the following is the correct way for an R2 to request a delay sanction?
A. Verbalize the request for a delay sanction (e.g., "I need a delay sanction for Team A."
B. Display the delay sanction signal, without a card, in the chest area.
C. Display the delay sanction signal, with the appropriate card, in the chest area.
D. Display the delay sanction signal, without a card, overhead.
E. Display the delay sanction signal, with the appropriate card

Answer: B. Display the delay sanction signal, without a card, in the chest area.

Reference: Officiating Techniques, Points of Emphasis, & Match Procedures 20.e. (p. 107)

Team A substitutes #3 for #8. After the substitution, A #3 serves two points and then serves the ball into the net. Team B serves for a point, and it is then discovered that Team A #3 has already been in the set in a different position. What actions should the referees take?
A. Correct improper substitution & cancel substitution charged to Team A. Award Team B an additional point. Team B continues to serve.
B. Correct improper substitution & cancel substitution charged to Team A. Remove the two points scored by Team A #3. Team B continues to serve.
C. Correct improper substitution & cancel substitution charged to Team A. Assess a delay sanction to Team A. Team B continues to serve.
D. Correct improper substitution & cancel substitution charged to Team A. No points are removed or rewarded. Team B continues to serve.

Answer: D. Correct improper substitution & cancel substitution charged to Team A. No points are removed or awarded. Team B continues to serve.

Reference: USAV 15.9.2.3a, USAV 15.9.2.3b

The 2nd referee tells the Team B coach that he has two substitutions remaining, so the team chooses to make one substitution. The scorer then informs the 2nd referee that this was the team's 12th substitution. The coach says he would not have made the substitution if he had realized it was the 12th substitution. What is the correct action?

A. Since the coach immediately acted upon the misinformation, the coach can withdraw the substitution with no penalty.
B. The coach can withdraw the substitution, but will be assessed a delay sanction.
C. The coach can withdraw the substitution, but will be assessed an improper request.
D. The team will be given one additional substitution since the 2nd referee gave incorrect information that was immediately acted upon.

Answer: B. The coach can withdraw the substitution, but will be assessed a delay sanction.

Reference: USAV 24.2.7.f. - When a team acts upon misinformation but the action does not result in an excessive substitution or time-out, the request is considered legal and is not grounds for the team to change or withdraw the request. A delay sanction is assessed if the team withdraws a legal request that has been acknowledged (whistled) by a referee.